Open letter to Failure

Dear failure,

Well you aren’t really dear to me. But the way you have been sticking to me in the past few months, looks like I’m very dear to you though.

There was a time when we barely knew each other. I had a different gang of friends back then, remember? There was Joy, Satisfaction, Hope and my bestie Optimism. I frequently hanged out with your friend Dissy a.k.a Disappointment but had never really met you. And then suddenly one day you came in front of me, just starting blankly into my eyes. Hope told me to just ignore you and I promptly brushed you aside. I hadn’t thought about you since then for a few years, even Dissy wasn’t around much to remind me of you.

The next time you came to meet me, there was a travel bag in your hand. You stayed in the town for a few months. I must have met you just twice or thrice though. But your archenemy Success had become quite close to me by then. So you left town and I was sure that was goodbye.

Success and I had a gala time for few months. Dissy came sometimes spoiling a few party nights but mostly it was fun. And even when Dissy just kept knocking at my door asking me to let her in, I would just call Optimism over phone and soon joy would join in. 

But this was just the calm before the storm. You just walked into my town one day and this time you had many bags and a large suitcase. Dissy had told you stories from my life and you had used them to get closer to me. But you knew that wouldn’t be enough to live in my house. So you started getting involved in my life. After all success was no longer my friend. This made you stronger and you just took over my love life. I was helpless and cried for help. 

My first idea was to call Prayers. I was sure she would make you go away but you stayed unperturbed. In fact you even moved to my room from the kitchen. I missed my old gang. Since you had started living with me, Joy and Satisfaction never came home. Hope and Optimism called me once in a while and kept my spirits high. 

After a while, I guess you were bored sitting at home all day. You followed me to my workplace one day. You just loved to there, didn’t you? Cause then you kept coming everyday. I realized this was getting dangerous and hired Hard work at the workplace. But you are so clever, you brought in your friends pessimism and worries, and made Hardwork resign.

And talking about the present, we are closer than ever before. We are always together and hangout all the time, you are quite possessive though making everyone else stay away. I couldn’t even find Optimism’s number the other day, I’m quite sure you threw it away! Now it’s just us, me and you, and occasional visits from your friends Jealousy, Sadness and Dissy. You have no plans of ever leaving my side, do you? 

I better go now. Sadness said she is gonna be here for dinner. I have to go dress my worst, you are such a pro at it. I seem to be picking up well!

-Forcefully your friend

 

Leave a Reply

